Peek-A-Boo Records

Peek-A-Boo Records Catalog
Search Catalog:

NOTE: International orders require additional postage. Please refer to postage schedule for details.

The Octopus Project "Hello, Avalanche [11th Anniversary Deluxe Edition]" 2xLP


Also by The Octopus Project:
» The Octopus Project "Fever Forms" CD
» The Octopus Project "Fever Forms" LP
» The Octopus Project "Sharpteeth" 7"
» The Octopus Project Digital EP
» The Octopus Project "Hexadecagon" 2xLP
» The Octopus Project "Hexadecagon" CD
» The Octopus Project LP
» The Octopus Project "One Ten..." LP
» The Octopus Project Enhanced CD EP
» The Octopus Project "Hello..." CD
» The Octopus Project "Hello..." LP
» The Octopus Project "One Ten..." CD
» The Octopus Project "One Ten..." LP
» The Octopus Project CD

Other releases featuring members
of The Octopus Project:
» Black Octopus Lipstick...  CD EP
» V/A "The Peek-A-Boo Book of Spells" LP
The Octopus Project
"Hello, Avalanche [11th Anniversary Deluxe Edition]" 2xLP
Peek-A-Boo Records
BOO 1223

Welcome to 2018! As we enter a year that will finally bring us flying cars, robot butlers and telepathy-based internet, The Octopus Project was astonished to discover that it's been 11 years since the release of the band's third album and perennial fan-favorite, Hello, Avalanche. As such, it felt appropriate to reissue the record in a deluxe 11th anniversary incarnation – remastered explicitly for vinyl, visually redesigned and pressed on two 180-gram cyan blue LPs in a lush gatefold sleeve printed with silver foil detail. The second LP contains 2009's Golden Beds EP (first time on vinyl!) and a full side of previously-unreleased demos from that era, giving fans a look into an expanded Avalanche universe.

The Octopus Project's third proper full-length represented a bold step forward musically and artistically. With ragged, furious distorted guitars at one end of the spectrum and the pure, luminescent tones of the Theremin at the other, the album finds the band mining a staggering variety of instrumentation – strings, brass, synthesizers, glockenspiel, and more. Many sounds on the record were manipulated to push them even further – inhuman drum breaks three layers deep piled over the original live drum track, a heavenly Theremin choir, guitar parts mulched into bits and reassembled into a tiny Prince army – filling the songs with brilliant, contrasting colors and cascading waves of sonic bliss.

While the band's previous records were mainly self-produced, for this outing The Octopus Project wanted to achieve the perfect blend between high-end studio trickery and lo-fi home experimentation. Hello, Avalanche was recorded by Ryan Hadlock (Blonde Redhead, The Gossip) outside Seattle in 2007, and mixed in various sessions by the band, Hadlock and Erik Wofford (Voxtrot, Explosions In The Sky). The finished product contains tracks that remain staples of the band's live set – "Truck" appears early on the album but has become reliable show-closing climax. Also notable, "Queen" marks the first vocal track in the OP's previously instrumental discography.

As the OP continues to forge ahead, exploring new sound worlds with every album, please join us in this look back to a major turning point in the band's ever-expanding body of work. Whether an old favorite or new to you with this reissue, the mountainous pile-up of sound on Hello, Avalanche is sure to put a smile on your face and a dance in your step.

Includes MP3 download code.

Release Date:  January 15, 2018

Track Listing
1.  Snow Tip Cap Mountain [2017 Remaster] 
2.  Truck [2017 Remaster] 
3.  Bees Bein' Strugglin' [2017 Remaster] 
4.  An Evening with Rthrtha [2017 Remaster] 
5.  Black Blizzard/Red Umbrella [2017 Remaster] 
6.  Upmann [2017 Remaster] 
7.  Mmaj [2017 Remaster] 
8.  I Saw the Bright Shinies [2017 Remaster] 
9.  Ghost Moves [2017 Remaster] 
10.  Vanishing Lessons [2017 Remaster] 
11.  Exploding Snowhorse [2017 Remaster] 
12.  Loud Murmuring [2017 Remaster] 
13.  Queen [2017 Remaster] 
14.  Wet Gold [Wet Gold EP] 
15.  Moon Boil [Wet Gold EP] 
16.  Rorol [Wet Gold EP] 
17.  Wood Trumpet [Wet Gold EP] 
18.  Half A Nice Day [Wet Gold EP] 
19.  Liztape [Bonus Track] 
20.  Truck (Practice) [Bonus Track] 
21.  LEG [Bonus Track] 
22.  Beehive’s Dream [Bonus Track] 
23.  Wameu! [Bonus Track] 
24.  It’s Hard To Be Smart [Bonus Track] 
25.  Boo Best [Bonus Track] 
26.  Green House [Bonus Track] 
27.  That’s The Bird Mystery [Bonus Track] 
28.  Singles Chart [Bonus Track] 
29.  Sneak Out [Bonus Track] 
30.  The Future [Bonus Track] 

» Consequence of Sound (01/30/2018)
© 2020 Peek-A-Boo Records